Hello 2011

Many people start the new year by making a handful of “resolutions”. But for me, I prefer not to. Resolutions are something that most people do not complete. They are made in a drunken haze as the giant silver ball is dropping, and they are forgotten within a blink of the eye. Resolutions are something you look back on at the end of the year, and go, oh yeah, I was going to do that, and that, and that…and none of it was ever done. So for me, with the arrival of 2011, I am not making any resolutions. I am setting goals.

Last year, 2010, was a tough year for me. While there were many positive moments (I bought my first car, I moved in with my boyfriend), they are not what I will remember about 2010. Instead, I will remember 2010 as the year I had a job where my boss sent me home in tears every day. I will remember 2010 as the year that I was fired from my job, not just once, but twice. I will remember 2010 as the year I had to go on unemployment for 2 1/2 months. I will remember 2010 as the year where I once got the flu so badly that I threw up for 10 hours straight. I will remember 2010 as the year my financial situation had me in tears weekly. I will remember 2010 as a year I would like to forget.

But that can all change in 2011. As 2010 drew to a close and 2011 was a moment away I began to spend a lot of time thinking, reflecting, scheming, hoping. And that is when I decided, 2011 will be the best year yet. I will put last year’s difficult year behind me. I will not dwell on it. I will not wish things had been different. Last year is what it was and that can’t be changed. So, with that said, I will make 2011 amazing. I will do new things. I will meet new people. I will make things happen.

Goals for 2011

  • Live Healthier
  • Travel Internationally
  • Make a New Friend
  • Take a Proper Vacation
  • Save $$ for Future
  • Write & Read Regularly
  • Make 2011 a Great Year

For each goal I have a plan of how I will reach that goal.  For example, for living healthier I would plan to start the South Beach Diet next Monday and go for daily walks.  If I need to change my approach to achieve certain goals, I will.  Things are not set in stone, they are always changing, and I will be ready to adapt.

2011 will be a GREAT year.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ashkir
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 02:00:52

    I will remember 2010, as the day where I meant another great community manager. You were working for a game that I sincerely enjoyed for a while and had a lot of faith in. You made me want to continue playing the game, in hope it would have a better future when things turned for the worse.

    2010 was a tough year for a lot of us, with the state of things, but, you were hit hard in a different way, emotionally. I was sad to see that, and your job seemed way too stressful, that it was not even worth it. But, at least you have a great boyfriend and made some great friends with your experiences.

    I like your goals! I will be matching your write & read goal. Recently I started reading novels again! I finished one right after Christmas, and I’m working on my first novel of the year, Lirael by Garth Nix. I let this slip since high school, and man did I miss losing myself into another world.

    I agree with you, 2011 will be a great year!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention Hello 2011 « Spastic Musings -- Topsy.com
  3. Trackback: Post a Week 2011 Challenge « Spastic Musings

Leave a Reply

Archives

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

