Top Ten Movies of 2010

Those closest to me know that I am a huge movie geek.  Other than the horror genre, I will give almost any movie a try, and can find something I enjoy in most any flick.  And you know what, 2010 was a fantastic year for movies.  So for those fellow movie lovers, here are my top ten movies of 2010.

Note: To be eligible for the list the movie had to have been released into theaters for the first time in 2010.

10.  Megamind/Tangled – This year was so great for animated movies, and these two were just fantastic.  So fantastic that I can’t choose between the two for this spot. 

Megamind was a bit predictable, but the voice acting was fantastic, and I am a sucker for nearly anything Will Ferrell.  Plus the quality of the animation was absolutely fantastic.  The story was cute, and though the ending was predictable, I loved it that the “bad guy” won, for once.

Tangled was created by Disney, and I pretty much automatically love anything Disney.  But, beyond that, Tangled was also a fantastic movie.  Fantastic animation!  I thought it was a creative and interesting retelling of Rapunzel, and the voice actors did an amazing job.  The Horse and Chameleon, even though they did not have any lines, were some of the BEST sidekicks ever created and completely stole the show.  Finally, Disney is known for its original music, and this movie definitely delivered.  Mandy Moore has a beautiful voice, and Zachary Levi is just so adorable.

9.  Alice in Wonderland

Growing up Alice in Wonderland was one of my favorite stories, and the animated Disney version of the is one of my all time favorite movies.  I also find Johnny Depp to be an amazing actor, and Tim Burton (save for a couple of movies) is a fantastic director.  In late 2009 when I heard that Tim Burton was making a live action + CGI version of Alice in Wonderland with Johnny Depp, I knew I would have to see it.  And guess what?  I was not disappointed.  While I still love the original animated Disney version more (it just reminds me of my childhood so much), this new version was a unique and creative way of approaching the story.  The acting, not just by Johnny Depp, was fantastic.  The costumes, the sets, the cinematography, all spot on.  While it is not Tim Burton’s best movie, it is definitely fantastic and was, and still is, thoroughly enjoyable to watch.

8.  Avatar

Honestly, I kind of feel like I have to put this movie on the list.  I saw Avatar opening night.  Mistake.  The theater was overcrowded.  Two hours in the air conditioning broke down.  So with an hour still left my boyfriend and I were sitting there, sweating bullets, watching this fast-paced movie, getting sick to our stomachs.  BUT!  Beyond that experience, I enjoy this movie immensely.  While the story was a bit “cliché”, the camera work and visual aesthetics were, well, freaking fantastic.  This movie was, by far, the best looking movie of the year.  And for that, it belongs on this list.

7.  Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

I love comic books.  I love video games.  I love geek culture.  I love Michael Cera.  I loved Scott Pilgrim vs. the World.  It did an absolutely fantastic job of keeping the graphic novel feel of the original story.  Plus, Kieran Culkin as Scott Pilgrim’s gay roommate?  He stole every scene that he was in.

6.  Toy Story 3

Though this was the highest grossing movie of the year, and you may expect it to be on the top, it doesn’t quite make it there for me.  But, that being said, it is still an absolutely fantastic movie.  I loved the original Toy Story but wasn’t really feeling Toy Story 2, so I was a little apprehensive about seeing Toy Story 3 when it came out.  I actually didn’t see it in the theaters.  I didn’t get a chance to see it until I was flying back east to visit my mother and they showed it on the plane.  I figured, hey why not?  And you know what?  I am so glad I did.  Of course, as always with Pixar, the animation was spot on, but that is not why it is on this list.  It is on the list because by the end of the movie I was sobbing my eyes out, 35,000 miles in the air, on an airplane.  Truly fantastic.

5. Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows: Part I

Just as those who know me know that I love movies, they also know that I LOVE Harry Potter.  And oh goodness, I feel as though I have been waiting for a new Harry Potter movie for forever (though it was really only a year and half).  I was excited for Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows the minute I finished the sixth movie.  I was literally counting down to it.  I would watch the trailer and get chills every single time (and I watched that trailer at least two dozen times).  While I was a little disappointed they decided to split it into two movies, mostly because I knew the first movie would leave me hanging and wanting more, I knew it would be worth it.  And goodness, I was not disappointed.  It was, by far, the most well done Harry Potter movie yet.  While it is not my favorite story (the 4th book/movie holds that title), it was the most well-directed, the most well acted and the most heart wrenching Harry Potter movie.  The only part of the movie I didn’t like?  That it means it is almost all over.

4.  How to Train Your Dragon

Holy crap!  This movie had me laughing the entire way through it.  Another beautifully animated movie, How to Train Your Dragon, was easily my favorite animated movie of the year, and it had some tough competition.  But, when one of the main characters is an adorable and beautiful dragon named Toothless, it’s not hard to take the top spot.  My favorite part of this movie was the references to geek culture, like Dungeons and Dragons.  While the young kids in the audience wouldn’t get the joke, it had all the geeky dragon loving adults giggling like school girls.

3. The Social Network

Oh Facebook.  You are often the bane of my existence, the root of my internet addiction, and frankly, a complete pain in my butt.  But, regardless of how many times you sneakily change the security settings, I still love you, and I admit, you have revolutionized the way we communicate with each other.  And so, of course, I absolutely had to see the movie that told the story of the man (though at the time he was barely a boy) who brought us this behemoth of a thing.  And guess what, even if the story was completely bogus, it was a fantastic movie.  I was on the edge of my seat the entire time, waiting to see what would be thrown at me next, and I didn’t have to wait long.  The movie was fast paced, always going, always moving, yet it never felt like it was going to fast.  The acting, especially by Jesse Eisenberg, was just so spot on.  Plus, my alma-mater, Boston University, got a shout out!  This movie, and Jesse Eisenberg, definitely deserves, at the very least, an Oscar nomination.

2.  Inception

Christopher Nolan, do you ever make a bad movie?  Leonardo Dicaprio, do you ever make a bad movie?  Michael Caine, why are you so awesome?  Ellen Page, can I be your girlfriend?  Joseph Gordon-Levitt, can I be your girlfriend?  Cillian Murphy, how can you be so creepy looking yet so hot at the same time?  Ken Watanabe and Tom Hardy, why aren’t you in more movies?   Oh goodness, Inception was such a fantastic movie, and even though I know the ending and it is no longer suspenseful, I can watch it over and over and still enjoy it every time.  At the end of watching the movie for the first time in the movie theaters, I just sat there for a good five minutes, mind absolutely blown.  For the next few days it was all I could think about.  All I could talk about at work.  I spent way more time than I should on the internet searching for absolutely everything about it.  This movie would have been my top movie of 2010, if the following movie had not come out in December…

1.  Black Swan

OH.MY.GAWD.  Absolutely, without a doubt, the best movie of 2010.  The best directed, the best acted, the best screenplay.  This movie deserves an Oscar for any and every category that it is nominated for.  Darren Aronofsky is an amazing director.  Natalie Portman…just, wow.  I did not know you had that in you.  You absolutely owned that role.  You have now established yourself as one of the top actresses in Hollywood and I predict a long and successful career for you.  This movie left me absolutely floored and on edge for the rest of the night after I saw it, and that is, in my opinion, exactly what it was supposed to do.  If you have not seen this movie, do it now.

——

What was your favorite movie of 2010?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ashkir
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 22:07:53

    I personally seen some of these movies you have listed, but others I have not. Because you listed Black Swan high up, and I saw a trailer for it recently I think I’ll give it a shot and watch it. It peeked my interest for a small while.

    I liked Avatar, but I think I got bored for some parts of it as it felt too slow. Avatar was a great leap forward into 3d however.

    Reply

    • mistercheech
      Jan 05, 2011 @ 23:59:21

      You don’t like horror films? I think you’re negating a perfectly good genre for no real reason. Just this year we had “Legion” and “Shutter Island,” which are both phenomenal. “Black Swan” is a horror film.

      Have you seen any of these?

      “The Devil’s Rejects” (2005)
      “In the Mouth of Madness” (1995)
      “The Beyond” (1981)
      “Trouble Every Day” (2001)
      “Cure” (1997)
      “New Nightmare” (1994)
      “Frailty” (2001)
      “Invasion of the Body Snatchers” (1978)
      “Opera” (1985)
      “Hellraiser” (1987)

      Reply

      • Kat
        Jan 06, 2011 @ 11:04:35

        I guess I really should have been more specific. I don’t like horror films like “Saw” or “The Hills Have Eyes” or stuff like that. I LOVE psychological thrillers, which I guess are technically a subset of horror films. And yes, Black Swan is definitely included in that group.

        I have not seen any of those. I have heard of a few of them, such as “Frailty” and “Invasion of the Body Snatchers”, but have never seen them. Perhaps I shall change this.

        Also, I did enjoy Shutter Island. It barely missed out on the list, but I definitely enjoyed it. Another psychological thriller. And it had Leonardo Dicaprio in it. Fantastic.

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention Top Ten Movies of 2010 « Spastic Musings -- Topsy.com
  3. Michael G.
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 01:00:08

    I surprised there isn’t more championing the wonderful film – Black Swan. The most ambitious, technically proficient and brilliant conceived film of the year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

