New Year, New Domain

A very long time ago, back when I was an ambitious young college student at Boston University, I used to have my own domain.  I was going to do great things with it.  I was going to establish my online presence and people were going to love me for it.  You can see how this ends now.  I was excited about it for all of 2 weeks.  Then it dropped off the face of the earth.  One year later it came time to renew it.  I did.  Why?  I don’t know.  It sat there for another year.  Every once in a while I thought about how I should find someone to make me a good website, or that I should upload photography to it.  But I never did.

Fast forward four years.

I now work in one of the most rapidly growing industries in the world (social games).  Even more than that, I work as a Community Manager.  It is my job to be connected.  It is both my job to have an online presence for myself, and build an online presence for my company.

As I thought about what I wanted my domain to be, I found myself coming back to blogging.  But the question was, what would I write about?  Did I want to brand myself, and my domain to one specific topic?  Did I want to make it all about my life?  As I talked with my friends, colleagues, even random acquaintances, I kept hearing different things.

“You should find one area you want to write about and stick to that.  It will be easier to market it.”

“You should totally just make it all about you.”

Everyone had an opinion.  And all of those opinions mattered.  And none of those opinions mattered.

I could have thought about it for months.  Gone back and forth.  Reconsidered a thousand times.  But you know what?  Enough was enough.  As Nike says….JUST DO IT.  So here it is.  Introducing, the new, the improved, the kick-butt, kateolmstead.com.

So what do I hope for from this domain and the blog?  What will I write about?

That is a very good question, and honestly, it is something I am still answering myself.  I have some ideas, of course.  I do know that this blog will be my public face.  I also know that I will not limit myself to one topic.  There is so much I am interested in (gaming, geek culture, gender issues, movies) that limiting myself would discourage me.  This blog will be about me, about what I believe in, about what I think is interesting, and about what I find important.  It will cover everything from personal to professional, and everything in between, and even outside what that entails.

Welcome.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashkir
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 13:37:23

    I look forward to what you make of your blog, Kate! :).

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Post a Week 2011 Challenge « Spastic Musings

Leave a Reply

Archives

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

