Traveling Dreams

This week’s inspiration for my “Weekly Post” comes from a question from my dear friend Nick on my Ask Me page (you can feel free to ask me one as well)…

If you could spend a week traveling Europe, which cities would you like to hit up and why?

This is an interesting question to ask for a couple reasons.  First, I do not have a passport as I have never traveled out of the country.  Second, I am actually traveling out of the country for the first time  next month, for business, to Europe.  Thus, traveling and Europe  have been on my mind quite a bit.  And thus, I am excited to answer this question.

Frankly, a week is not a long time to travel all over a continent, but lets for the sake of this question pretend that I can teleport from place to place and not lose any time traveling.  With that in mind let us begin our journey.

London, UK

Yes, how cliche of me right?  You know what?  I don’t care.  Ever since I was little London has been on my list of places to visit.  I want to see where the queen lives.  I want to look at Big Ben.  I want to stand on the London Bridge and sing “London Bridge is falling down, falling down..”.  I want to go and try and get the royal guards to smile.  I want to visit where Shakespeare lived and wrote.  I want to drink a pint in a seedy pub with sketchy British men with yummy accents.  I want to do everything cliche that Americans think of when they think London.  

Dublin, Ireland

I am 50% Irish.  I love all things green.  I grew up on a sheep farm.  I need to visit Ireland.  One half of my family’s history began in this country and thus I feel a draw to this great green yonder.  However, beyond that, Dublin is filled with so much history, so much architecture and amazing parks, that I know I would love visiting.  From the glorious castles to the beautiful churches, every step would hold a new piece of architecture and history for me to marvel.

Paris, France

Ah, the city of love.  Let me start by saying that I love love.  However, that is not why I would love to visit Paris.  Paris comes on the recommendation of many friends who have visited there.  The Eiffel Tower, tiny outdoor cafes, the Louvre, the parks, the cuisine, the history, the architecture.  What is there in Paris that you would NOT want to see?  Absolutely nothing.  I will make it to Paris someday, I promise you that.

Venice & Rome, Italy

Food.  Beautiful Architecture.  History.  Religion.  Italy is my top destination, has been for years, will be until I get to visit.  I took two years of Italian in college simply so that I would be able to visit Italy.  Honestly, I would like to visit all of Italy, even Sicilia.  However, if I had to choose just a couple places to visit, Venezia and Roma are at the top of the list.  Venice for the simple fact that it is a city built on water.  Additionally it is home to some beautiful art.  Rome…Well, let’s face it, it’s Rome.  How can you not want to visit the home of the Pantheon, the Colosseum, the Roman Empire, the Renaissance, the Trevi Fountain?  And yes, I could go on and on forever about everything in Rome, and Italy as a whole.  If you have any interest in history, ancient, middle ages, or current, Rome is a must.  Oh did I also mention I absolutely love Italian food?  Yeah, I am definitely going to Italy someday.

Athens, Greece

Home of philosophers Plato and Aristotle.  The Parthenon.  The Olympics.  Temples to Greek Gods.  Are you seeing a theme here?  I love history.  History of any kind.  I can’t get enough of it.  And a chance to visit one of THE places that started Western Civilization.  Yes.  P.S.  I don’t like Greek food, but I could maybe get used to it.

Madrid & Barcelona, Spain

Why?  Because I feel as though if I am going to visit Europe, I must at least stop by Spain.  Madrid is the capital and thus an obvious choice, but I have often been told that the city is almost too large and that it is daunting.  However, I would still like to visit and roam through the streets.  As for Barcelona, well from what I know, it has some absolutely beautiful architecture.  And it is home to Picasso, so you can can bet I would be visiting the museum completely dedicated to him!

Germany

I honestly can’t pick which city I would want to visit when I visited Germany.  The country is so filled to the brim with history that I could spend two weeks traveling just around there.  From Berlin, to Munich, to Hamburg, each city has something I would like to see.  And when you remember that Germany was at the heart of WWII, and that I studied Judaism in college, well Germany simply has so much value for me.

—-

There are so many places in Europe that I want to see, so many places in the world I want to visit.  Someday I will make that happen.  I am embarrassed to admit this, but I have never left the country (United States).  I do not even have a passport.  But!  Not for long!  I am excited to write, at the beginning of February I will be going to Hamburg on a business trip.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ohsaycanyousay
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 10:44:51

    I agree with you on so many of these! Ireland and London, duh. I’ve been to Paris and it IS beautiful and a must-see! Italy, I’ve heard, is incredibly different from region to region, so it would be logical to see the entire state. I also really want to see Greece and am fact pseudo-looking at a study travel trip with my alma mater to Greece in June 2012. And you must write all about your trip to Germany. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ashkir
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 10:50:44

    Oh man, I really want to visit Venice. I heard so much about Venice and what it is. The city seems to be a remarkable place with art, architecture, history, and the effects of the renaissance. The documentaries about Venice make me sad… because the city is sinking. 😦 If they can’t hold it off, experts predict it may be lost in the next few decades. It is definitely at the top of my list.

    I agree, I want to go to Greece. The Greek culture has affected our daily lives so much more then those great philosophers ever thought was possible. I don’t like Greek food much, but, hell, its worth it to see one of the history of one of the greatest civilizations to ever roam the earth. I like Greek mythology too. >.> <.< Round of Zeus anyone?!

    Germany seems like a great place to visit. However, if I visit Europe I hope I have the guts to go to Poland to see Auschwitz. I don't think I'd be able to swallow the thought, but, it is something I kind of want to see. It was a dark period in our history and it shouldn't be forgotten. Germany has changed so much since, and they have great attractions. Germany seems to be a great choice.

    Great list of destinations, Kate! 🙂

    Reply

    • Laurie
      Jan 07, 2011 @ 11:06:25

      Are you SURE you haven’t read Jumper? Because your reference to teleporting through Europe to avoid the waste of time travel causes is a TOTAL Jumper reference.

      I love your list, and your reasons. I also want to visit all of the cities you have listed! You know I’ve been to London already (twice) but I would love to go again, I love London, hell I love all of England, but I definitely want to get to the rest of Europe at some point as well!

      Reply

  3. angelanoel
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 10:41:41

    You should add Cinque Terre to your Italy travel list. Cinque Terre is five little towns in Laguria (or is it Loguria?) situatied on the water, sort of hanging off of a cliff. There’s a little path that connects the cities you could walk though there’s a train if you’re lazy like me. Beautiful views, small town charm (useful after the busy of Venice and Rome), and excellent fresh seafood.

    Reply

    • Kate
      Jan 12, 2011 @ 10:43:18

      That sounds absolutely gorgeous! If I ever make it to Italy (which is one of my goals in life) I shall visit this place. Though Rome is great for history, you can’t beat a quaint little town with beautiful views.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

