Truth Thursday: Week II

This week’s Truth Thursday is all about music.

I DIDN’T GO TO MY FIRST LIVE CONCERT UNTIL I WAS 19

I grew up in small town Vermont.  We don’t have a lot of musical venues there.  If you wanted to go to a concert you would have to either drive to NYC (6 hours) or Boston (2 1/2 hours).  Every once in a while a semi-famous artist would pop up at a venue in Manchester, NH (2 hours).  On a very rare occasion we would get a country artist or “oldies” artist at a state fair.  As a teenager, if I wanted to go to a concert, I would either have to get permission to go by myself (which would never happen) or have my parents drive me (also unlikely to happen).  Additionally, when I was young, large cities and big crowds made me uneasy, so I never really had an interest in seeing a concert.  It wasn’t until my sophomore year when roommates invited me to go with them to an O.A.R. concert at a small venue in Rhode Island.  No clue who O.A.R. was I said yes, simply so I would no longer be a “concert virgin”.  I ended up having tons of fun, loving the band, and even getting a girl thrown out of the club because she was drunk and trying to start a fight with my roommates and I.  Quite an interesting time.

MY FAVORITE BAND IS OF A REVOLUTION (O.A.R.)

After going to my first concert ever, played by this kick-butt band, I absolutely fell in love with O.A.R.  To his day I have only been to seven live concerts.  Four of those concerts were O.A.R. (Coldplay, Death Cab for Cutie and Stephen Kellogg & The Sixers were the others).  Anytime O.A.R. is near where I live (which is not often since they do not tour frequently) I make sure I get tickets.  If I had to describe their music I would say it is Dave Matthews Band meets Sublime meets Jazz Music.  It’s a sound all of their own and it is what makes them so fantastic.  It is not very often you find a band with a saxophone as a primary instrument.  Though their recorded CDs are great, where they really excel is in live concerts where they “jam” and change-up songs on a regular basis.  It is unlikely you will ever hear them play a song the same why multiple times.  Often their live songs last between 8-15 minutes.  Their last studio album was released in 2008, and frankly, I am itching for a new one.  But I may not have to wait long, as it is rumored they have a new one coming in February of this year.  Their older stuff continues to be my favorite (The Wanderer), but their new stuff is pretty great as well.

I WISH THAT *NSYNC WOULD REUNITE

Ok, I am not ashamed to admit it, as a young teeny-bopper I used listen to *NYSNC. I owned all of their albums and would listen to them on repeat quite often.  Unlike most girls, who loved J.C. Chasez and Justin Timberlake, my favorite was Lance Bass (I still love him to this day).  He didn’t get any solos, but without his bass voice the band would not have sounded the same.  When they went on “indefinite hiatus” so that certain members (yes, I am looking at you JT) could pursue solo projects I actually remember getting depressed.  Even though Justin Timberlake is obviously more successful now as a solo artist, I can’t help but wish they would get back together, even if it was just for a couple new songs and a reunion tour.  You can bet I would be there.  Maybe someday.  Hey if the Backstreet Boys and New Kids on the Block can do it, why can’t they?  By the way Justin, you are a better singer than actor, so can you stick to that?

I DO NOT LIKE RAP MUSIC, EXCEPT FOR EMINEM

Most rap music makes my head hurt.  I admit that these artists have talent, but anytime rap music comes on, I immediately switch the station.  That is unless it is Eminem.  I don’t know what it is about him, but when his music comes on I can’t help but sing along.  I even enjoyed his movie 8 Mile.  I love his old stuff for the hilarity and satire.  His new stuff, however, is absolutely fantastic on an artistic and musical level.  And filled with honesty. I love that fact that he doesn’t rap only about “bitches and money”, like most rappers seem to do.  The first single of his new album, Not Afraid, was so moving and encouraging, I immediately felt a burst of energy whenever I heart it.  And when his collaboration with Rihanna came out, Love the Way You Lie, I listened to that song on repeat for nearly a week.  And the video, absolutely fantastic.  He is nominated for TEN awards at this years Grammy Awards.  I hope he wins them all.

I PREFER LISTENING TO MALE ARTISTS

There are female artists I do enjoy; Britney Spears, Katy Perry, Kate Nash, Regina Spektor, Lily Allen, and Imogen Heap.  However, when I think about what music I prefer to listen to on a regular basis, it is tends to be male musicians and bands; O.A.R., Sublime, Death Cab for Cutie, Muse, Arcade Fire, Modest Mouse, and Kings of Leon (to name a few).  Perhaps it is the kind of music they make?  Overall I tend to prefer Alternative or Indie Rock, rather than Pop or straight up Indie music (though there are some Indie artists I love, like She & Him, Rilo Kiley, Tegan & Sara).  In general there aren’t very many female rock artists, and those that do exist tend to be more classical rock (though Feist is considered Alternative/Indie Rock, and I do love her).  By the way, this isn’t to say I wont listen to female artists, this is just to say overall my musical tastes gravitate towards male artists.

——

What music genres do you love?  What are your favorite artists?  What was your first concert?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashkir
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 17:24:11

    For some reason my favorite female artist is Allison Krauss. Dunno why. My favorite male artist is easily Pavarotti or Galbraith.

    I need to go look up Of A Revolution now o.o

    Reply

  2. thomasconnery
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 19:49:49

    Not sure I have a favorite artist but my primary genre is hard rock. I’ve always loved music and remember walking around with my my Fisher Price player like it was yesterday. My first concert was Kenny Rogers when I was five years old and I knew every song. I’ve performed in three rock bands in my adult life. If you’d like to hear our newest tracks, checkout: http://www.reverbnation.com/againstapocalypse

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

